Corangamite Shire

Council Services

Key facts

Corangamite Shire is located in south-western Victoria, about 200 kilometres from the Melbourne CBD. Corangamite Shire is bounded by Pyrenees Shire in the north, Golden Plains Shire and Colac Otway Shire in the east, the Southern Ocean in the south, and Moyne Shire and Ararat Rural City in the west.

Corangamite Shire is named after Lake Corangamite, Victoria's largest lake, which is named from an Aboriginal word meaning "bitter" or salt water.

Corangamite Shire is a predominantly rural area, with significant residential areas in the townships of Camperdown, Cobden, Derrinallum, Lismore, Noorat, Port Campbell, Princetown, Simpson, Skipton, Terang and Timboon. The major town is Camperdown, followed by Cobden and Terang. The Shire encompasses a total land area of 4,600 square kilometres, including national park, coastline, lakes and craters. Much of the rural area is used for agriculture, particularly dairy farming, sheep and cattle grazing, and grain growing. Tourism is also an important industry, especially in the southern section along the Great Ocean Road.

Major features of the Shire include Port Campbell National Park, The Twelve Apostles, Loch Ard Gorge, London Bridge, Lake Corangamite, Mount Elephant, Camperdown-Timboon Rail Trail, the Great Ocean Road and South West TAFE (Glenormiston Campus).

Population: 16,370
     Males             8,227 (50.3%)
     Females        8,143 (49.7%)

Area: 4,600 square kilometres

Dwellings: 7,674

Building Approvals
     2011/2012       42
     2010/2011       43
     2009/2010       62

Length of sealed local roads: 905 kms
Length of unsealed local roads: 1,298 km